Official Pest Report

Official Pest Reports are provided by National Plant Protection Organizations within the NAPPO region. These Pest Reports are intended to comply with the International Plant Protection Convention's Standard on Pest Reporting, endorsed by the Interim Commission on Phytosanitary Measures in March 2002.

Twenty Counties in Kentucky Added to the Quarantine Area for Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) (Agrilus planipennis)

Country: United States

Title: Twenty Counties in Kentucky Added to the Quarantine Area for Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) (Agrilus planipennis)

Paul Chaloux, EAB National Program Manager, (301) 734-0917

Report: The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) confirmed the identification of Emerald Ash Borer (EAB), in 20 Counties in Kentucky. These detections resulted from numerous public reports of declining ash trees.

In response to this detection, APHIS is working closely with the State of Kentucky to carry-out regulatory and other response activities. The Federal Order establishing a quarantine area to prevent the further spread of EAB is attached. Effective immediately, all interstate movement of EAB-regulated articles from Boone, Bourbon, Campbell, Carroll, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Kenton, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Scott, Shelby, Trimble, and Woodford Counties in Kentucky must be handled in accordance with the attached Federal Order. Specifically, the interstate movement of EAB-host wood and wood products from these counties is regulated, including firewood of all hardwood species, nursery stock, green lumber, waste, compost, and chips of ash species. Due to a parallel quarantine area established by Kentucky, only these 20 counties will be added as a quarantine area and placed under phytosanitary controls.

Currently, Allegheny, Beaver, Butler, Lawrence, Mercer, Mifflin and Westmoreland Counties in Pennsylvania are area quarantined for EAB, together with the entire States of Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois. The following are also quarantined areas: portions of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and the entirety of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula; Prince George’s and Charles Counties in Maryland; and Arlington, Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudon, and Prince William Counties, along with the independent Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park in Virginia; Fayette and Morgan Counties in West Virginia; Wayne County in Missouri; Hennepin, Houston and Ramsey Counties in Minnesota; and Crawford, Fond du Lac, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Vernon, and Washington Counties in Wisconsin.

EAB is an invasive wood boring beetle that is native to China and eastern Asia. EAB probably arrived in North America hidden in wood packing materials commonly used to ship consumer and other goods. It was first detected in the United States in southeastern Michigan. Since then, EAB has been responsible for the death and decline of more than 50 million ash trees in the United States. The interstate movement of firewood from quarantined areas is an especially high-risk pathway for spreading EAB, and APHIS is working with State cooperators and foresters to raise awareness amongst the public concerning this threat.

Under IPPC Standards, Emerald Ash Borer (Agrilus planipennis) is considered to be a pest that is present in some parts of the United States and subject to official control to prevent further spread.

Posted Date: Sept. 4, 2009, 9 a.m.