Official Pest Report

Official Pest Reports are provided by National Plant Protection Organizations within the NAPPO region. These Pest Reports are intended to comply with the International Plant Protection Convention's Standard on Pest Reporting, endorsed by the Interim Commission on Phytosanitary Measures in March 2002.

Pine Shoot Beetle - Update of the Regulated Areas - Canada / Grand hylésine des pins - Aperçu des zones réglementées - Canada

Country: Canada

Title: Pine Shoot Beetle - Update of the Regulated Areas - Canada / Grand hylésine des pins - Aperçu des zones réglementées - Canada

Not available

Report: The pine shoot beetle (Tomicus piniperda (Linnaeus)) is considered a quarantine pest to Canada and is regulated by CFIA both with regards to imports as well as domestically. The CFIA has recently (as of Sept., 16, 2010) revised the pine shoot beetle regulated areas to reflect recent on-going surveillance activities and pest detections in North America.


Within Canada the regulated areas are now defined as follows:

Province of Ontario:   Algoma District (Geographical Township of Bridgeland); Algoma District (Geographical Township of Laird); Algoma District (Geographical Township of Johnson and Plummer Additional); Algoma District (Geographical Township of Montgomery); Algoma District (Geographical Township of Parkinson); Algoma District (Geographical Township of Rose); Algoma District (Geographical Township of Tarbutt & Tarbutt Additional); Algoma District (Geographical Township of Wells); Algoma District (Geographical Townships of Blind River); Algoma District (Geographical Townships of Patton); Algoma District (Township of Huron Shores); Brant; Bruce; Chatham-Kent; Dufferin; Durham; Elgin; Essex; Frontenac; Greater Sudbury Division - Sudbury District - All of the area south of highway 17 commencing at the junction of the western boundary of the Nipissing District and highway 17 and heading west along highway 17 to the boundary of the previously regulated area on the north shore of Georgian Bay; Grey; Haldimand; Haliburton; Halton; Hamilton; Hastings; Huron; Kawartha Lakes; Lambton; Lanark; Leeds-Grenville; Lennox and Addington; Manitoulin District; Metro Toronto; Middlesex; Muskoka; Niagara; Nipissing distrct (excluding the Township of Temiskaming); Norfolk; Northumberland; Ottawa-Carleton; Oxford; Parry Sound; Peel; Perth; Peterborough; Prescott-Russell; Prince Edward; Renfrew district; Simcoe; Stormont-Dundas-Glengarryz; Sudbury District (Geographical Township of Nairn); Waterloo; Wellington; York.

Province of Québec:  Acton;  Arbestos;  Argenteuil;  Arthabaska;  Beauce-Sartigan;  Beauharnois-Salaberry;  Bécancour ;  Bellechasse;  Brome-Missisquoi;  Coaticook; D'Autray;  Deux-Montagnes;  Drummond;  Jacques Cartier;  Joliette;  La Haute-Yamaska;  La Rivière du Nord;  La Vallée-du-Richelieu;  La ville de Laval;  La ville de Lévis (Desjardins, Chutes de la Chaudière Ouest et Chutes de la Chaudière-Est);  Lajemmerais;  L'Amiante;  L'Assomption;  Le Haut St-Laurent;  Le Haut-Richelieu;  Le-Bas-Richelieu;  Le-Granit;  Le-Haut-Saint-François;  L'Érable;  Les Chenaux;  Les Collines de l'Outaouais;  Les Etchemins;  Les Jardin-de-Napiervile;  Les Laurentides;  Les Maskoutains;  Les Moulins;  Les Nouvelles Beauce;  Les Pays-d'en-Haut;  Le-Val-Saint-François;  Longueuil;  Lotbiniêre;  Maskinongé;   Memphrémagog;  Mirabel;  Montcalm;  Montréal;  Municipality of L'Annonciation (within the MRC of Antoine-Labelle);   Municipality of Low (within the MRC of Vallée de la Gantineau);   Municipality of Notre-Dame-de Pontmain (within the MRC of Antoine Labelle);  Municipality of Notre-Dame-de-Laus (within the MRC of Antoine Labelle);  Municipality of Saint Prosper (within the MRC of Les Chenaux);  Municipality of Saint-Pamphile (within the MRC of L'Islet);  Municipality of St.-Elie (within the MRC of Maskinongé);   Municipality of St-Basile (within the MRC of Portneuf);  Municipality of St-Georges-de-Champlains (within the MRC of Centre Mauricie);  Municipality of St-Gilbert (within the MRC of Portneuf);  Municipality of St-Raymond (within the MRC of Portneuf);  Nicolet-Yamaska;  Papineau;  Pontiac;  Portneuf;  Quebec City;  Robert-Cliche;  Roussillon;  Rouville;  Sherbooke;  Thérèse-de-Blainville;  Trois-Rivières;  Vaudreuil-Soulanges;  Ville de la Gatineau.

Under IPPC Standards (e.g., ISPM No. 8), the pine shoot beetle is considered present (only in some areas) and subject to official control in Canada.

For detailed maps of the regulated areas and CFIA policies related to pine shoot beetle, please visit the CFIA website at

Posted Date: Sept. 27, 2010, 9 a.m.